Just Stimming…

A land we can share (a place I can map)

Stuff And Also Things

with 5 comments

This is a post of short, housekeeping things that are not enough for posts in and of themselves but together form one thing. It is not an essay.

So!

I haven’t really written anything since October. This is because I am Autistic, and I am inconsistent and cannot communicate on anyone else’s schedule–or even one of my own. I do have some essays planned to finish and go up soon. I actually have dozens of drafts on my computer, ranging from the rest of Metaphors Are Important to whole new series and a bunch of other things. But they aren’t ready yet, and that’s okay.

I say “that’s okay,” mostly to remind myself. I have a lot of anxiety surrounding my writing, and in particular this site.

Which brings me to my next item of business…

I cannot usually answer comments. It’s in part an access issue, as well as a matter of anxiety, discipline, and time, and it’s also a protective mechanism–my language isn’t the best for brief comments, and I have no desire to start a comment war. It’s my general internet policy, which I try to follow with varying degrees of success. I have similar issues answering emails. I wasn’t going to ever explicitly state this, but it turns out that just because I’m not writing doesn’t mean people aren’t reading, and since Quiet Hands (and more recently, Obsessive Joy) exploded, I’ve gotten more comments than I ever thought this blog would see.

A lot of those comments have made me cry, as much as the attention has made me want to run away. I am planning on posting a more specific response tomorrow, but for now I just want to say thank you. Thank you. Thank you for reading, thank you for listening, thank you for taking action, and thank you for letting me know that all three of those happened. I cherish your comments.

In the interest of directing you to something similar to read, an idea that needs to go viral, I’d like to link you to The Unbroken Spectrum: Stockholm Syndrome, over at Shift Journal. I did not write it. It’s important.

I’ve been working on several projects since October, all related in odd ways, which you can expect to hear more about soon.

I also participated in ASAN’s ELSI  symposium at Harvard Law this weekend, which was fantastic. I don’t have words for this experience, and I don’t know that I ever will, beyond too much excitement and optimism to be contained.  I’ll link to the youtubes when they are available. I spoke briefly about the gap between theory/law and what actually happens to autistic people. I actually spoke much more briefly than I would have liked, since my vision cut out about halfway through my response and I could no longer read what I’d scripted out. Perils of being a self-advocate.

And that’s what you’ve missed since October! Hopefully things will be back to normal here tomorrow. Thanks for bearing with me.

Written by Julia

December 12, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Posted in personal

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Julia, I always treasure having the chance to read anything you have to offer. I had just been wondering if you were OK (I know, you don’t like being thought of, but it IS compassionate🙂.)

    Peace to you, and I hope you have a happy holiday season.

    bolthead0070

    December 12, 2011 at 7:18 pm

  2. […] This entry aims to amplify that little echo. Here’s Julia yesterday at her blog Just Stimming, after having thanked readers for recent comments and explained a bit about not having posted much […]

  3. […] related: Stuff And Also Things […]

    Response | Neurodiversity

    December 14, 2011 at 1:05 am

  4. Just glad to hear from you and know you’re okay.

    I’m no good at the whole friendship thing but I have you on my list of ‘people I’d like to be friends with if time, location and neurology made it possible’. I check on your site every other day because your posts are good and valuable.

    I did want to ask – I’ve had an offer to write a guest post about autism for a blog on a very famous media organisation’s website. I did want to quote and link to you, but it may cause another big influx of hits on your blog. I don’t want to do that to anyone without their permission. If the answer’s yes, please say; no obligation to reply if you don’t want to be linked. The piece I’m hoping to write (just waiting for the final okay) will be about how adult autistics are changing perspectives on, and understanding of, autism.

    tielserrath

    December 15, 2011 at 4:46 am


Leave a Reply

